Phones-Computers

How to delete your TikTok account permanently – and get rid of all videos you’ve posted

CREATING a TikTok account is a pretty simple process – but deleting it is a little bit more complicated.

If you fancy a break from the music video app and are looking to delete it then below are the steps you need to follow.

 TikTok has millions of users

2

TikTok has millions of usersCredit: Reuters

Before you begin the deletion process you should first consider that deleting your account is permanent and cannot be reversed.

TikTok clearly states on its website that “a deleted account can’t be recovered”.

If you make the decision to delete the app then you need to open it on your device and go to your “Profile” tab.

Next, click on the “Settings” icon that appears as three horizontal dots in the top right hand corner.

 If you delete the app you will not be able to get your account back

2

If you delete the app you will not be able to get your account backCredit: Alamy

You then need to click on “Manage My Account” and “Delete Account”.

Once you’ve deleted the account you won’t be able to log back in with that username anymore.

You’ll also lose access to the videos you’ve posted and purchased items.

No refund will be given for any items purchased.

Your account will appear as “Deactivated” to other users who search for your profile.

After 30 days, your account and its videos and information will be deleted.

Any shared information, such as a chat message, may still be visible to others.

If you’re having an issue with TikTok then you can contact the Support Team via the company website.

What is TikTok?

Here’s the official description from the NSPCC’s Net Aware…

  • TikTok is a social media app where users can record and upload short video clips. In August 2018, TikTok merged with Musical.ly, meaning all users with Musical.ly accounts were moved to TikTok. We’ve pulled together some information about the app and how to keep your children safe while using it.
  • The majority of clips in TikTok include young people lip syncing and dancing to songs or comedy sketches (skits). Users can watch clips posted by other members, and can set their videos to be viewed publicly to other users or privately to friends (also known as followers).
  • Like Snapchat, TikTok has filters where users can record their videos. It also includes other additional video editing features such as slow motion or speeding up videos. What makes this app popular with young people is the collaborative element where TikTok users can reply to one another and do joint videos on a split screen or participate in user created challenges.
  • TikTok users can send messages to each other within the app; privacy settings for this can be changed to allow a user to communicate with all other TikTok users or just to friends. TikTok has a similar social media element like Instagram and Twitter, where users can follow each other and like content.
  • If your child is using TikTok, we recommend speaking to them about how they can use this app safely.
TikTok stars ‘exploiting kids’ for gifts as Brit fans pay £100s just to talk to them

In other news, Instagram’s new Dark Mode makes nighttime scrolling easy on your eyes.

Facebook recently revealed a plot to merge Messenger with Instagram and WhatsApp.

And, popular messaging app Kik is shutting down – disappointing hundreds of thousands of users.

Do you use TikTok often? Let us know in the comments…


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

code

Back to top button